This Week in Awkwardness

Everything that’s been happening in American politics lately has really made me notice how incredibly diverse USF is.  All day long I hear different languages as I’m walking around campus – Arabic, Mandarin, Hindi, Spanish, French, who even knows what all.  The other day in sociology my teacher was looking for the African American viewpoint on something, he pointed at a black girl in the first row & asked if she was African American, she said no, she’s Haitian.  Guy behind her, nope.  The next person was Nigerian, the one after him was from St. Martin.  And the teacher is Brazilian!  Another of my teachers is Dutch, my neighbors are Sikh, two of my classmates are Russian.  It’s amazing.

I signed my apartment up for clean energy for $10 extra per month!  Or at least I think I did, the email I got said they’d be in touch but I haven’t heard anything….  Anyway, if you’re like me & pine for solar panels & windmills you can’t afford, check with your power supplier to see if you can pay a little extra to support their projects.  Here in Florida of course electricity just falls from the sky pretty much continuously, so there’s solar arrays all over the place.  I also decided to buy some rope & clothes pins so I can hang my laundry to dry on my patio instead of using the dryers in the laundry room.  Every little bit helps!

I’ve spent most of the last year figuring I would go to the summer field school that USF runs at George Washington’s boyhood home in Virginia, so OF COURSE this is the year they decide not to do it…  It’s OK, there’s a zillion field schools, including one in Maryland that I had considered going to that I think I’ll apply for.  It’s longer, I think it’s actually cheaper, and I might even get more credits than I would’ve with the USF one.

This semester I’m studying a lot of past anthropological theorists who use language that we find appalling today. I literally can’t write the words “primitive” or “savage” without putting them in quotes, even in my own notebook that nobody else will ever see.


Added to the Travel Map:

The Mapparium at the Mary Baker Eddy Library, Boston, Massachusetts – stained glass globe that you can walk through – only place in the world where the entire surface can be viewed without distortion.

Convento de Cristo, Tomar, Portugal – castle built as the headquarters of the Knights Templar in 1160.

Olšany Cemetery, Prague, Czech Republic – oldest cemetery in Prague, a literal walk through history.

St. Dominic’s Catholic Church, D’Hanis, Texas – ruin.

Leave a Reply

