Some Random Amount of Time in Awkwardness

A couple of weeks ago I said goodbye to Mackinac Island and made my way to Tampa, with visits to friends and family along the way.  I spent one night each in KOA cabins in Clinton, Tennessee and Calhoun, Georgia, both of which I would recommend to anyone traveling through the area.  The one in Calhoun gives out fresh baked cookies and has free-roaming peahens, a small petting zoo, and a pond – stop into the office for a dish of goat and/or duck food, both are 50¢.

I revisited an interesting spot in Tennessee – a crazy looking tree at the UT Arboretum in Oak Ridge.  It grows sort of outward instead of upward, and it’s easy to climb under the branches and have a cozy little fort in the middle.

2015.10.16.001 2015.10.16.005

I haven’t done a whole lot since I got here – mostly I’m just trying to get all the stuff done that needs to be done before I start school in January.  I did find out that “dark tourism” is a thing this week.  Apparently it’s on the rise.  I don’t know why the sociologists are so surprised by this.  My own travel map is chock full of battlefields, prisons, and various other places that I guess could be considered “dark”.  Every single place in the additions section just on this post is some sort of abandoned ruin, and I tried to add a bunch more only to find out they were already on there.

Happy Halloween!


Geocaching:


Added to the Travel Map:

Mallows Bay, Maryland – bunch of scuttled ships laying around.

Ungru Manor, Ridala Parish, Estonia – an abandoned ruin.

Train Cemetery, Thessaloniki, Greece – hundreds of rail cars left to rot.

Parc Montsouris, Paris, France – a park with an abandoned rail line.

Leave a Reply

