This Week in Awkwardness

I requested a transcript from my community college to be sent to USF so I think that’s my application completed, now I’m just waiting to find out if they’ll let me in.

Every year I tell myself I’m going to go on a trip in the fall, and I never do.  Maybe this will be the year….

I found a show called Aquarius that’s a sort of half-fiction based around Charles Manson.  I’ve only gotten through the first episode so far but it seems pretty good.


Book Finished:

Dead Wake, by Erik Larson

This is the story of the Lusitania and her fatal meeting with Unterseeboot-20 off the coast of Ireland in 1915, set against the broader backdrop of war and espionage.  Larson does an excellent job weaving his tale from the smaller experiences of the liner’s passengers, the the captains and crews of both ships, and the highest officials of England, Germany, and the United States.  Suspense builds throughout as “Lucy” steams toward Liverpool and U-20 makes her way around Ireland from the north.  I’m always impressed when an author can make me dread the ending to a story I already know – Larson doesn’t disappoint.

Favorite Quote:

“He was to be a willing guide for first-class passengers wishing to learn more about the ship; he was to preside over dinners with prominent passengers; he was to walk the ship and engage passengers in conversation about the weather, their reasons for crossing the Atlantic, the books they were reading.  [Captain] Turner would sooner bathe in bilge.  According to Mabel Every, he described passengers as ‘a load of bloody monkeys who are constantly chattering.'”


Added to the Travel Map:

Wicklow, Ireland.

Wicklow Mountains National Park, Wicklow, Ireland.

Leave a Reply

