This Week In Awkwardness

This has been a week of packing and cleaning in preparation to head back to Michigan for the summer. I’m driving back with the very loosest of plans so I don’t know what I’ll see along the way or even how long it will take. All I know is that I’m tired of scrubby trees under a relentless sun and I can’t wait to get back to cool lake sides and shady forests.

To that end, I’ve begun researching the Ozark Mountains area of Arkansas and Missouri, which I think will be there first real forested area I’ll get to on the other side of the Great Plains.  There’s a bazillion parks, historic cities, and Civil War sites scattered across the region, to the point that I’m overwhelmed by it.  I might have to stay there for a little while :).


Added to the Travel Map:

Rush Historic District, Yellville, Arkansas – a ghost town.

Kennett, Missouri – where my great-grandparents were from.

Musée des Arts et Métiers, Paris, France – a science museum.

Cuidad Nuclear, Cuba – complete with abandoned power plant!

Alex Raskin Antiques, Savanna, Georgia – a really cool looking antiques shop.

Pea Ridge National Military Park, Pea Ridge, Arkansas – Civil War battlefield.

Prairie Grove Battlefield, Prairie Grove, Arkansas – another Civil War site.

Leave a Reply

