This Week in Awkwardness

Book(s) Finished:

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

I know I’m a few years late to this party, but I was honestly avoiding it because it seemed like the kind of series where I would fall in love with one or more characters who would then drop dead & leave me heartbroken (I was right).  Listening to Katniss waffle back & forth between the two male leads was really annoying but otherwise I enjoyed the series.  The characters & their world were well-developed and I couldn’t help but see endless metaphors in the storyline of the ways poor people/countries are exploited and enslaved by rich people/countries who couldn’t live without them but don’t seem to realize it.  It’s been awhile since I read anything like this, due to my habit of crying over literary mortality, so it was a nice departure from the non-fiction I’ve been snapping up lately.

Favorite Quote:
“‘Now we’re in that sweet period where everyone agrees that our recent horrors should never be repeated,” he says.  “But collective thinking is usually short-lived.  We’re fickle, stupid beings with poor memories and a great gift for self-destruction.'”


Crossed Off the Travel Map:


Added to the Travel Map:

Leffrinckoucke Bunkers, Leffrinckoucke, France – abandoned Nazi bunkers on the beach, now with awesome graffiti.

Leave a Reply

