The Scholarship Search

Searching for scholarships makes me feel old. They’re all for high school students, nobody wants to give money to someone my age. I’ve discovered a handful of random scholarships that allow adult entrants, and believe me I’ve entered them all, but I still feel like the opportunities are significantly narrowed for those of us in the non-traditional age group.  I have all of the “why didn’t I do this before???” thoughts of course, but there’s nothing I can do about that, I just have to move forward with what I have right now.

I’m also starting to realize that the search really is a skill you have to develop. What started off as a totally overwhelming endeavor has slowly become more manageable as I’ve learned to spot patterns and narrow the search by interests, memberships, or other traits. The ones I’ve found that need some sort of essay want to know why I want their money and have all gotten modifications of my first blog post so that wasn’t hard. For me it’s really just a matter of working on it when I have positive energy to focus, and giving it up for the day once I start to feel like it’s an impossible task. Easier said than done, I really do need to retrain my thought processes and remember that it’s OK to take a break from it.

Leave a Reply

