The College Search Begins…

One of the great mysteries of my life has always been this: how does anybody ever decide which college to go to? Good God, there’s so many options, how do you narrow it down? It’s a skill in and of itself, figuring out which schools offer the kind of program that fits your interests. In high school I felt like everybody around me knew not only exactly what they wanted, but exactly how to get there. Admittedly I don’t know how that worked out for them, but still, how does anybody know these things at 17?

I thought I knew what I wanted, but it hasn’t really worked for me. I ended up with two Associate’s degrees from a community college and while they’ve been useful, I’ve found that my profession really needs to be more of a hobby, or side money at best.  I’d thought about going back to school, in fact always felt I’d missed out on something by not attending a university, but when it came to what to study….big ol’ blank space.

Then God hit me with an epiphany: archaeology. I love history almost to the point of being depressed that I can’t experience it, I like working outside, I’ve always loved playing in the dirt. I desperately want to travel and gain a real understanding of new places.

So here I am, almost ten years out of high school, and five away from my last round of college classes, trying to figure out not only what school to attend, but also how to snag some scholarships and grants to pay for it.  I’ll do my best to record my endeavors, hopefully to tell you all about what I’m learning in school, and eventually (!) what I’m working on in the field.

(I’d like to take a moment before I leave to wonder how exactly a loan came to be considered aid? Money that you have to give back isn’t all that helpful….)

Leave a Reply

