This Week in Awkwardness

I was passed on the highway by a pickup truck with a load of cow skulls.

I went through a Border Patrol Checkpoint coming back up from Tombstone.  They just waved me through, I guess I didn’t look like I’d be harboring illegals.  One of the officers was staring off into the desert with a serious pair of binoculars, which looked like about the most boring job on the planet.  I’m not totally convinced he was actually facing the border.

We got our first little bits of snow up on the mountains here in Sedona, I’m hoping for more but I guess they really didn’t get any last year so who knows.


Book Finished:

The Shining, by Stephen King

I’ve tried to read King before, but just could never get into it until this one.  I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that was genuinely creepy, unless you count Goosebumps and that was so long ago I don’t remember if they were scary or not.  Anyway I’d already seen the movie (Shelley Duvall runs like a puppet), the TV miniseries, and the episode of Friends where Joey spoils the ending for Rachel so I already had some idea of what was going on but I still enjoyed it.

Favorite Quote:

“He had always disliked the snowmobiles.  They shivered the cathedral silence of winter into a million rattling fragments.  They startled the wildlife.  They sent out huge and pollutive clouds of blue and billowing oilsmoke behind them – cough, cough, gag, gag, let me breathe.  They were perhaps the final grotesque toy of the unwinding fossil fuel age, given to ten-year-olds for Christmas.”


Crossed Off the Travel Map:


Added to the Travel Map:

International Cryptozoology Museum, Portland, Maine – because how awesome does that sound?

Leave a Reply

